top of page
Search
  • maryanneetch

Final Artist Statement

My final project for the Webventure project was a travel simulator, which gave me a space for both social commentary and humor. The website lets users travel to Jamaica, Chicago, Scotland, or outer space. In outer space, the user unfortunately finds Jeff Bezos and Elon Musk on a rocket ship. This was one of the first ideas I had when thinking that outer space should be an easter egg option. I think it’s interesting how so many billionaires are obsessed with space, probably because they see it as another thing they feel like they could own or profit from. I wanted to do commentary on that in a lighthearted way. Elon Musk’s purchase of Twitter was also in the headlines as I was working on this project. If I had more time, I think there were a lot of ways to expand on this website, but even the relatively simple storyline I created ended up being 25 pages. I also wish I would’ve considered the different resolutions of a computer, because putting transparent images on my background often had them misplaced when it wasn’t on my personal laptop. I loved having the opportunity to just be silly but also make a clean website. My favorite Easter egg other than the rocket ship is the Chicago river video. The travel theme gave me the opportunity to be goofy and have all kinds of fun opportunities for the user. I always loved reading “Choose Your Own Adventure” books as a kid, so having the opportunity to make my own with strange outcomes was lots of fun.









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page